Woodhull Names Recipients of 2016 Vicki Sexual Freedom Award

Woodhull Names Recipients of 2016 Vicki Sexual Freedom Award

ALEXANDRIA, Va. — The Woodhull Freedom Foundation today announced the recipients of the 2016 Vicki Sexual Freedom Award to be awarded at Woodhull’s Sexual Freedom Summit in August.

This year the group honors Megan Andelloux, Kenyon Farrow, Dr. Scout and Carol Leigh.

“It has been my honor to have worked with, and been inspired by, each of the 2016 Vicki Sexual Freedom Award recipients,” says Ricci Levy, president and CEO of The Woodhull Freedom Foundation. “They’ve dedicated their lives to advancing sexual freedom, and to securing a future where our human rights are fully embodied in our lives.”

Established in 2010, The Vicki recognizes those individuals whose life and work embody the mission and values of the Woodhull Sexual Freedom Alliance, and who have made landmark contributions to the sexual freedom movement through education, advocacy, research, sexual health and activism. This year, the recipients are:

•  Andelloux, whose award will be presented by Sandra Daugherty (Sex Nerd Sandra), is the founder and executive director of The Center for Sexual Pleasure and Health (CSPH). 

•  Farrow is an award-winning writer and activist. Kenyon has spent the last 15 years working in social movements on campaigns and projects large and small, community-based, national and global in scope.   

•  Scout has been a vocal LGBT advocate since the 1980s. He has won recognition for his work from the U.S. House of Representatives, two state governments, and many city governments. In 2014, he was named one of the Out100 by The Advocate Magazine, and received a Rockefeller Foundation writing fellowship on transgender health.  

•  Leigh, AKA Scarlot Harlot, has been working as a sex worker/prostitute activist and artist in the San Francisco Bay Area for more than 30 years. Since the late seventies, she has written and performed political satire as “Scarlot Harlot,” and produced work in a variety of genres on women’s issues including work based on her experience in San Francisco massage parlors.

The Summit will host a Vicki Sexual Freedom Award Recipients Roundtable on Saturday, Aug. 6, hosted by 2013 Vicki recipient Carmen Vasquez.

Then, after an afternoon of workshops, all Summit attendees are invited to a reception with the 2016 recipients, along with board members Nina Hartley, Buck Angel, Hardy Haberman, Richard Moore, Metis Black, Ted Bernhardt, David Mandell, Carmen Vasquez, and Ricci Levy.

The evening will culminate with the “Liberty, Libations and Libido” awards ceremony and gala. The celebrations continue through brunch on Sunday, where Andelloux will receive her award.

Woodhull’s Sexual Freedom Summit, to be held Aug. 4-7 at the Hilton Mark Center in Alexandria, is now in its seventh year. The focus of the Summit is the goal of the sexual freedom movement — global recognition of our fundamental human right to sexual freedom.