XRCO Awards Mainstream Visibility, Longevity

LOS ANGELES -- The 21st annual XRCO Awards featured few surprises in an affair that was less raucous than in previous years but also more streamlined. Twenty-four awards were presented, and Jenna Jameson was inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Co-hosts Wankus and Taylor Wane proved congenial and efficient masters of ceremonies, despite Wankus’ pre-show promise to “destroy the industry.” In fact, some longtime show regulars said this year’s event was tamer than those of years past.

XRCO Historian Emeritus Bill Margold inducted Jenna Jameson into the Hall of Fame after presenting Jared Rutter with a surprise “Fifth Estate” Hall of Fame plaque. Hall-of-Famers Randy West and Christy Canyon joined Jenna onstage, with Jameson remarking that West was her first scene partner.

“You told me you wanted to be a porn star even then, 12 years ago,” West remarked.

Jameson garnered the most laurels of the evening, having starred in Best DVD “The Masseuse” and tied with Seymore Butts, honored for his Showtime series “Family Business,” in the new Mainstream’s Adult Favorite category along with her Hall of Fame induction.

The evening resonated with what was described by many as a high school cafeteria atmosphere. Several calls from the stage to begin the awards went unheeded by the 200-plus attendees, and speakers often waited for the oblivious crowd to settle down. The atmosphere was convivial throughout, however, and guests networked with abandon in the hallways of Century City’s Century Club throughout the duration of the evening.

Lauren Phoenix was honored as Female Performer of the Year as well as Orgasmic Analist, while Manuel Ferrara was named Male Performer of the Year. Digital Playground’s Teagan Presley took home three awards, including Best New Starlet and Teen Cream Dream as well as Best 3-Way for her group work with Mark Ashley and Alberto Rey in Jules Jordan/Evil Angel’s Flesh Hunter 7.

Other individual awards went to Brian Surewood, Unsung Swordsman; Jules Jordan for Best Director; Tommy Gunn, Best New Stud; Katie Morgan, Unsung Siren; Jessica Drake, Best Single Performance—Actress; Randy Spears, Best Single Performance—Actor; and Roxy Jezel, Orgasmic Oralist.

Ariana Jollee walked away with the coveted Superslut award.

NinnWorx/PurePlay Media’s “In The Garden Of Shadows” won for Best Video, and Private U.S.A./Pure Play Media’s “Millionaire” garnered Best DVD. Other movies taking home trophies were VCA Pictures’ “Misty Beethoven The Musical,” Best Comedy or Parody; Joey Silvera/Evil Angel’s “Service Animals,” Best Gonzo Series; and Red Light District’s “Breakin’ Em In,” Best Amateur/Pro-Am Series. Awards were also given for individual scenes, including Katsumi and Lexington Steele, Best Couple Scene for Mercenary Pictures’ “XXX;” Ashley Blue, Brodi, Audrey Hollander, Kelly Kline, Gia Paloma and Tyla Winn, Best Girl/Girl scene for JM Productions’ “The Violation Of Audrey Hollander;” Kami Andrews, Missy Monroe and Julie Night, Best Group Scene for Brandon Iron Productions/ Platinum X Pictures’ “Baker’s Dozen 2.”

Onstage banter throughout the night was uniformly lighthearted and made little mention of political and legal issues affecting the adult industry.