CineKink Announces 2017 Award Winners

CineKink Announces 2017 Award Winners

NEW YORK — Following multiple days of screenings and parties culminating in its 14th annual awards show, CineKink has announced the winners of its 2017 adult film festival.

“We’ve all been feeling pretty demoralized since the election, but the works we were able to share during CineKink this year have been so reinvigorating," said Lisa Vandever, CineKink co-founder and director. "Congratulations and thanks are in order, not just to the winners tonight, but to all of the filmmakers for contributing to such a stellar line-up.” 

Audience Choice Awards for CineKink 2017 were given to “Snapshot” (Shine Louis Houston) for “Best Narrative Feature,” with “Sex and the Silver Gays” (Charles Lum and Todd Verow) winning for “Best Documentary Feature.”

In the shorts competition, juried festival awards went to “The Erotic Dreams of the Chelsea Hotel“ (Tony Notarberardino and Cassandra Rosebeetle) for “Best Dramatic Short,” “Like Totally Hot Couple Seeking Same” (Marcel Simoneau and Kirsten Russell) for “Best Comedy Short,” “Tabook” (Dario van Vree) for “Best Animated Short” and “Folsom Street” (Aron Kantor) for “Best Musical Short.” “Honorable Best Mention” awards were presented to “Four Day Weekend” (Nicole Jones), “Trinity” (Ms. Naughty) and “The Hutong Vibe“ (Fan Popo).

CineKink jurors this year included Viviane Tang, from sex blog "Viviane's Sex Carnival," Bill Woods, a film festival programmer and curator of the “New Filmmakers” series at Anthology Film Archives and F. Leonora Solomon, an erotica writer and editor.

The annual CineKink "Bring It!" award, determined by audience ballot during a presentation of excerpts showcasing current adult cinema, went to “Merger” (Urvashi).

The CineKink Tribute, recognizing extraordinary depictions of kink and sex-positivity in mainstream film and television, was presented to the feature film “Deadpool” (Director Tim Miller; 20th Century Fox), for its “…general reminder that sex is fun and vital, even for super-heroes, and specifically for its introduction of ‘pegging’ to the mainstream silver screen.”

Honorable mentions for the CineKink Tribute went to the television series “Not Safe with Nikki Glaser” (Nikki Glaser/Comedy Central) and “Easy” (Joe Swanberg/Netflix) and to the feature film “20th Century Women” (Mike Mills/A24).

Works eligible for consideration this year were those released or aired in the U.S. from Jan. 1 until Dec. 31, 2016.

A traveling version of the CineKink festival is set to appear in various cities throughout the coming year.