HD-XVideos.com Ordered Transferred to XVideos.com

LAS VEGAS — An arbitration panel ruled last week that the operator of HD-XVideos.com must hand over the domain name to owners of the adult tube site XVideos.com.

The WIPO panel concluded that the domain name, acquired in 2012 by Seychelles-based EvoPlus Ltd., was registered in bad faith because WGCZ S.R.O. of Las Vegas holds a trademark for the XVideos online adult brand. The panel said WGCZ has held the U.S. trademark since 2012.

In urging the panel to side for its case, WGCZ said that it has developed a protectable goodwill and reputation attaching to its XVideos mark.

WGCZ, in its complaint, said that XVideos.com is the 42nd most-visited site globally and the 48th most-visited site in the U.S.

"XVideos has become so well known since 2007 that it receives approximately 4.4 billion page views per month, three times the number of views received by numerous other world-famous Internet sites, including CNN.com and ESPN.com and has 350 million unique visitors every month," the complainant said.

The panel, agreeing with WGCZ, said that the "balance of probabilities" showed that EvoPlus was aware of XVideos' intellectual property holding.

"[EvoPlus] registered the disputed domain name on April 4, 2012, some five months prior to the complainant's registration of its U.S. mark for XVideos," the panel wrote. "However by the date of the respondent's registration the complainant had been using its mark in the XVideos.com domain name and at the website to which it resolves since 2007.

"Had the respondent wished to differentiate itself and to avoid the risk of trading off the goodwill and reputation attaching to the complainant's mark and website, then it could have registered a much more distinctive domain name," the panel wrote.

"Having chosen to wholly incorporate the XVideos mark into its choice of disputed domain name, the respondent then added the prefix 'HD'. The panel, as noted above, does not consider that this is sufficient to distinguish the disputed domain name and on balance considers that the respondent more likely than not chose to incorporate the complainant's mark purposefully into the disputed domain name in order to attract Internet users to its website."

The panel, finding EvoPlus registered and used the site in bad faith, ordered HD-XVideos.com transferred.


Copyright © 2024 Adnet Media. All Rights Reserved. XBIZ is a trademark of Adnet Media.
Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission is prohibited.

More News

Byborg's Le Shaw Research Institute Teams Up With Cupcake Girls

LiveJasmin parent company Byborg Enterprises’ Le Shaw International Sexual Health and Wellness Research Institute has joined forces with U.S.-based sex worker advocacy group The Cupcake Girls.

Anti-Pornhub Attorney Expands Strategy to 'Name and Shame' Finance Companies

A legal team headed by attorney Michael J. Bowe has expanded its strategy in a series of ongoing legal actions against Aylo, over user-uploaded content on Pornhub allegedly involving minors, this time targeting finance companies that have backed or worked with the company formerly known as Mindgeek.

X3 Expo 2025 Show Dates Set for Jan. 17-18

X3 Expo organizers have announced that the event will once again take over the historic Hollywood Palladium Jan. 17-18, bringing together legions of attendees for the biggest lineup of adult stars in North America, plus a smorgasbord of dazzlingly attractions showcasing the latest innovations in titillating digital entertainment.

SextPanther Unveils New Content-Tagging Feature, Revamped Explore Page

SextPanther has rolled out its new content-tagging feature, as well as the revamped version of the platform's "Explore" page.

Court Orders xHamster to Remove Dutch Amateur Content

An Amsterdam appeals court upheld a lower court decision ordering xHamster to remove all footage featuring Dutch people who have not given explicit permission for their images to be posted.

Dutch Platform DM-Movies Rebrands as MelodyPleasure.com

Industry veterans Melody Pleasure and Cheffie Shot have rebranded Dutch platform DM-Movies.com into MelodyPleasure.com.

Mymember.site Unveils New Order Management System for Sales

Mymember.site has released a new order management system designed to streamline and simplify how creators manage incoming orders for digital and physical products.

European Commission Compels Pornhub, XVideos, Stripchat to Disclose DSA Compliance Data

The European Commission has singled out Pornhub, XVideos and Stripchat for enforcement of the Digital Services Act (DSA), giving them until July 4 to provide compliance information.

X's Clarification of Adult Content Policy Triggers International Confusion

X’s recent clarification of its adult content policies has created confusion in countries with strict anti-porn laws, such as Indonesia, especially considering that X owner Elon Musk has stated that the limits of his “free speech absolutism” for the platform formerly known as Twitter are the laws of each country.

2024 AltStar Awards Winners Announced

Winners of the 2024 AltStar Awards, presented by Bad Dragon, were revealed during an in-person ceremony in Las Vegas on Sunday, June 9.

Show More