FSC Opens Up Board Nominations Via Email

Joanne Cachapero
CANOGA PARK, Calif. — The Free Speech Coalition has put out the call for nominations for its 2008 Board of Directors.

The FSC will send current members an email nomination form Monday; nominations will be accepted from Nov. 5-19.

This is the first time that FSC has utilized the Internet for its nomination and election process.

“If we want maximum participation from our membership, then we have to speak their language,” FSC Executive Director Diane Duke said. “The industry has always been a leader in technological development — unfortunately FSC has not. This is one of the many steps we are taking to strengthen our technological infrastructure.”

Incumbents up for re-election are Board President Jim Everett, Board Treasurer Joy King and board members Greg Shearer and Nellie Symm-Gruender.

Board Members Sid Grief, Joan Irvine and Connor Young have decided not to run for an additional term.

Incumbents automatically are on the slate of nominations, leaving eight open slots for additional nominees.

To sign up for the FSC XPRESS weekly newsletter or email blasts, call (818) 348-9373 The FSC election will take place in December.