Free Speech Coalition to Issue Ballots On Thursday

Jeff Berg
WOODLAND HILLS, Calif. — Ballots for the Free Speech Coalition’s board of directors election will be distributed at the group’s general membership meeting on Thursday, and presentations will be given on the proposed 2257 regulations and HIV self-regulation within the industry.

Board members selected during the upcoming election, along with current members, will be tasked with reviewing the coalition’s bylaws and developing a strategic mission plan.

“This is an important election for the industry,” said Michelle L. Freridge, executive director of the FSC. “The 2005 board of directors strategic plan will impact the industry over the next five years, building on the industry’s increased profile in mainstream culture.”

Six 2-year seats are open on the FSC board this year, and only five incumbents are running for reelection. They include Marina Pacific CEO Nick Boyias, First Amendment attorneys Jeffrey J. Douglas and Reed Lee, adult film producer and distributor Mara Epstein, and AVN Senior Editor Mark Kernes.

Also nominated for positions on the board is adult star Brittany Andrews, New Destiny Internet Group CEO Spike Goldberg, owner Gary Kremen, Cybersocket Inc. co-owner Morgan Sommer, and adult club owner Jerry Westland.

Incumbent Mike Ocello, former president of the Association of Club Executives, declined to run for reelection.

Ballots will be mailed to members who are not able to attend the meeting.

The final ballot date that ballots can be submitted is Dec. 24.

Election results are expected to be announced in January 2005.

Also featured at the general membership meeting will be presentations by attorney Jeffrey Douglas on the implications of the proposed changes to the 2257 laws, and by the Adult Industry Medical Healthcare Foundation’s Dr. Sharon Mitchell on HIV self-regulation within the industry.

The general membership meeting will begin at 5:30 p.m. on Thursday, Dec. 2, at the Warner Center Marriott in Woodland Hills.