Free Speech Coalition Accepting Ballots for Board Election

Slav Kandyba
CANOGA PARK, Calif. — Voting is underway through Dec. 17 to seat the board at the Free Speech Coalition.

A slew of new candidates are up for election to the board. Active FSC members were mailed their ballots via email and mail this week.

Board terms are effective for two years, with the winning candidates to serve on the FSC board throughout 2009-2010. Election results will be announced on Jan. 2. Candidates bios and statements are available for viewing on FSC’s website.

Incumbents looking to serve on the board are Tim Valenti, founder of; Mara Epstein, Evotum marketing director; Lynn Swanson, Topco sales director; journalist Mark Kernes and attorneys Jeffrey Douglas and Reed Lee.

Among the new faces looking to join the board are XBIZ President Alec Helmy; Adam Luca, UnZipped Media legal compliance manager; Rob Novinger, Channel One Releasing co-founder; Morgan Sommer, Cybersocket cofounder; Tamara Bell, CEO of Home Pleasure Parties Plan Association and Gill Sperlein, Titan Media’s legal counsel.

“After watching how successful voters were in affecting great change by turning out at the polls during the presidential elections, I hope that enthusiasm will carry over to FSC members, and that they will be proactive and get out the vote,” said Diane Duke, FSC’s executive director.

“This is a chance to choose representatives that will speak on behalf of your business interests — and with issues like piracy, obscenity and other anti-adult issues, there has never been a better time to get unified and organized,” she said.