Raging Stallion, Sinz, Corrigan Sweep GAYVN Awards

JC Adams
SAN FRANCISCO — Winners of the 2009 GAYVN Awards were revealed Saturday during a star-studded ceremony at the Castro Theater in San Francisco. The big-budget cowboy epic "To the Last Man 1-2" from Raging Stallion Studios galloped off with the lion's share of trophies.

Mainstream comedians Margaret Cho, Alec Mapa and Bruce Vilanch joined supermodel and reality-television mainstay Janice Dickinson as celebrity presenters.

"To the Last Man" — which also won GLBT Film of the Year at the recent XBIZ Awards — snagged Best Picture, Director and Screenplay honors, in addition to trophies for Ricky Sinz (Best Actor) and Scott Tanner (Best Supporting Actor, in a tie with Trevor Knight for "Endgame").

Sinz shared a Best Oral Scene trophy with Jackson Wild for the same film, which also earned kudos for its art direction, DVD extras, DVD special edition set, editing, packaging, music and cinematography.

Sinz earned a total of four awards, the most of any individual. He also took home Best Top and Best Threesome honors (shared with Logan McRee and Scott Tanner).

Performer Brent Corrigan walked off with the trophy for Best Bottom and accepted honors for two films from his Prodigy Pictures label: "Brent Corrigan's Summit" won Best Pro/Am Film, while "Just the Sex 1-2" won Best Twink Film.

Corrigan's slate of nominations irked one attendee. Performer, director and Lucas Entertainment CEO Michael Lucas commandeered the open microphone at one point and denounced Corrigan, whose controversial past as an underage performer Mr. Lucas feels sets an unwelcome precedent.

He upbraided those judges who nominated Corrigan. "Shame on you," he said. The crowd, momentarily taken aback, began to catcall until he left the stage.

Additional winners include Logan McRee as Performer of the Year, Leo Giamani as Best Web Performer, Jackson Wild as Best Newcomer — Wild was also an XBIZ Awards winner as GLBT Performer of the Year — and Tober Brandt as Fetish Performer of the Year.

Chi Chi LaRue was presented with the inaugural Trailblazer Award, while industry pioneer Roger Earl received a Lifetime Achievement citation, and Joan Irvine of the Association of Sites Advocating Child Protection (ASACP.org) accepted a special commendation from the City of San Francisco.

Hall of Fame inductees include director-producer Dink Flamingo, director-photographers TJ Paris and Phil St. John, performer-directors Michael Lucas and Chris Steele, and performers Dean Phoenix and Jack Simmons.

A complete list of winners in more than 50 categories can be found at the official awards website.